About Us

IPM in Action

Grant Programs

Signature Programs

Partners in IPM

IPM Planning

State Links









North Dakota


South Dakota


Supported by:

Partners in IPM: Working Groups

Great Lakes Vegetable Working Group

Led by Brad Bergefurd, The Ohio State University, bergefurd.1@osu.edu

The Great Lakes Vegetable Working Group (GLVWG) began in October 2004 as a network of vegetable production specialists throughout Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin and Ontario, Canada, united by addressing key pest management issues in vegetable production within this region. Members communicate predominately through an electronic listserv that reaches not only other specialists but other industry, grower and commodity association stakeholders throughout the region. The working group also hosts an annual one a half day conference to promote information and program exchange among vegetable specialists across state lines, and to identify and discuss current priorities facing the vegetable industry. The primary objectives of the Great Lakes Vegetable Working Group are focused on improved flow of information among all components of IPM, with broader understanding and engagement of both scientific and Extension communities across disciplines, crops, and states while improving economic efficiencies of information exchange and knowledge sharing. 

Spotlight on Great Lakes Vegetable Working Group

At its heart, the Great Lakes Vegetable Working Group (GLVWG) is a network of educators who specialize in all aspects of vegetable production. They collaborate and share lessons from the field and lab to continually sharpen their skills to serve vegetable growers of all scales and experience.

Great Lakes Vegetable Working Group Members

Abby Seaman, Cornell University
AJ Bussan, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Alan McKeown, University of Guelph
Alexandria Bryant, Michigan State University
Andy Wyenandt, Rutgers University
Angela Orshinsky, University of Minnesota
Ann Hazelrigg, University of Vermont
Anne Verhallen, OMAFRA
Anthony Shelton, Cornell University
Anu Rangarajan, Cornell University
Ben Phillips, Michigan State University
Benjamin Byl, Michigan farmer
Bernard Zandstra, Michigan State University
Beth Bishop, Michigan State University
Beth Scheckelhoff, Ohio State University
Bill Halfman, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Bill Hutchison, University of Minnesota
Bill Lamont, Penn State University
Bill Shoemaker, University of Illinois
Bill Steenwyk, Michigan State University
Bob Forrest, OMAFRA
Brad Bergefurd, Ohio State University
Brian Hudelson, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Brian Nault, Cornell University
Bruce MacKellar, Michigan State University
Carol MacNeil, Cornell University
Casey Hoy, Ohio State University
Catarina Saude, University of Guelph
Celeste Welty, Ohio State University
Chelsea Smith, Ohio State University
Cheryl Trueman, University of Guelph
Chin Tan, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Chris Gunter, North Carolina State University
Christine Smart, Cornell University
Christoph Kessel, OMAFRA
Christy Hoepting, Cornell University
Cynthia Scott-Dupree, University of Guelph
Dale Mutch, Michigan State University
Dan Egel, Purdue University
Danniel Brainard, Michigan State University
Darren Robinson, University of Guelph
Darryl Warncke, Michigan State University
Cave Smith, Michigan Vegetable Council
David Francis, Ohio State University
David Rhodes, Purdue University
Deana Sexson, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Doug Doohan, Ohio State University
Dwight Wolfe, University of Kentucky
Elaine Grassbaugh, Ohio State University
Elaine Roddy, OMAFRA
Elizabeth Wahle, University of Illinois
Elsa Sanchez, Penn State University
Eric Barrett, Ohio State University
Eric Burkness, University of Minnesota
Erin Haramoto, Michigan State University
Evan Elford, OMAFRA
Fred Springborn, Michigan State University
George Bird, Michigan State University
Hal Kneen, Ohio State University
Hannah Fraser, OMAFRA
Hannah Stevens, Michigan State University
Helene Dillard, Cornell University
James Traquair, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Janice LeFoeuf, OMAFRA
Jeff Kindhard, University of Illinois
Jeff Tolman, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Jerry Wright, University of Minnesota
Jim Breinling, Michigan State University
Jim Jasinski, Ohio State University
Joel Felix, Oregon State University
John Biernbaum, Michigan State University
John Masiunas, University of Illinois
John O'Sullivan, University of Guelph
John Snyder, University of Kentucky
John Strang, University of Kentucky
John Zandstra, University of Guelph
Jud Reid, Cornell University
Julie Kikkert, Cornell University
Ken Barnett, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Ken Conn, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Kenneth Seebold, University of Kentucky
Larry Olsen, Michigan State University
Laura Van Eerd, University of Guelph
Lina Rodriguez-Salamanca, Michigan State University
Liz Maynard, Purdue University
Lori Hoaglan, Purdue University
Margaret Appleby, OMAFRA
Marion Paibomesai, OMAFRA
Mary Gardiner, Ohio State University
Mary Ruth McDonald, University of Guelph
Matt Hanson, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Matt Kleinhenz, Ohio State University
Matthew Grieshop, Michigan State University
Meg McGrath, Cornell University
Melanie Filotas, OMAFRA
Michael Celetti, OMAFRA
Michael Tesfaendrias, University of Guelph
Mike Orzolek, Penn State University
Mike Staton, Michigan State University
Mohammad Babadoost, University of Illinois
Monica Lewandowski, Ohio State University
Mosbah Kushad, University of Illinois
Nicholas Held, Purdue University
Patti Nagai, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Pervaiz Abbasi, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Pete Ferretti, Penn State University
Phillip Tocco, Michigan State University
Ric Bessin, University of Kentucky
Rick Foster, Purdue University
Rick Kemery, Purdue University
Rick Weinzierl, University of Illinois
Rob Nurse, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Robert Grohs, University of Guelph
Robert Hadad, Cornell University
Robert Precheur, Ohio State University
Roger Becker, University of Minnesota
Ron Goldy, Michigan State University
Ron Pitblado, Weather Innovations Inc.
Roy Ballard, Purdue University
Russell Groves, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Ruth Hazzard, University of Massachussetts
Sally Miller, Ohio State University
Sandra Menasha, Cornell University
Scott Chapman, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Sean Westerveld, OMAFRA
Shawn Wright, University of Kentucky
Shubin Saha, University of Kentucky
Steve Loewen, University of Guelph
Steve Weller, Purdue University
Terry Nennich, University of Minnesota
Theresa Cira, University of Minnesota
Thomas Bjorkman, Cornell University
Thomas Kalchik, Michigan State University
Tiequan Zhang, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Tom Zitter, Cornell University
Vera Bitsch, Michigan State University
Vickie Morrone, Michigan State University
Vince Fritz, University of Minnesota
Walter Pett, Michigan State University
William Morrison, Michigan State University
William Whiteside, Illinois Vegetable Growers Association
Zachary Hayden, Michigan State University
Zsofia Szendrei, Michigan State University