ESA Names Winners of 2016 Awards

The Entomological Society of America is pleased to announce the winners of its 2016 awards. The awards will be presented at the International Congress of Entomology in Orlando, Florida, Sept. 25-30.

The following individual is a recipient of the 2016 ESA awards.

Distinguished achievement award in Extension Wright, Robert—This annual award recognizes outstanding contributions to extension entomology. Robert Wright is professor of entomology and extension integrated pest management (IPM) coordinator at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, where he has worked since 1988. He has developed a productive research and extension program in agronomic insect pest management, which has had local, regional, and national impacts.

He received his Ph.D. in entomology from North Carolina State University, M.S. in entomology from University of Arizona, and B.A. in zoology from University of California, Santa Barbara.

At Nebraska, Wright coordinates the activities of several faculty who contribute to the Entomological Society of Americastatewide multidisciplinary extension IPM program, and serves as entomology coordinator and contributor to several Nebraska Extension Crop Management programs. Regionally, he co-chairs the North Central Extension Entomologist Working Group, and chaired and is an active member of NCERA 222, the USDA-NIFA multistate committee on IPM. Wright led a group of national experts on corn rootworm biology and management to obtain funding for and produce an open access webinar, “Corn Rootworm Management in the Transgenic Era,” published on the Plant Management Network. He has contributed as a member of the National IPM Coordinating Committee for several years, and has frequently provided service to the USDA-NIFA IPM Centers.

Wright has been active in ESA, including service as Program Committee chair, Student Competition Committee chair, Poster Committee chair, and Membership Committee member, and at the Branch level as Program Committee chair, Local Arrangements Committee co-chair, and Executive Committee at-large member. He frequently serves as a judge for student competitions at ESA and North Central Branch ESA meetings.

This entry was posted in Center News, Press Release. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.