North Central Integrated Pest Management Center announces FY18 Working Group Grants Program Awards

The FY18 NCIPMC Working Groups Grants Program will support 18 working groups that includes 15 continuing working groups and 3 new working group projects. NCIPMC working groups are self-selected, self-directed projects that expand our pest management network throughout the region and beyond. These groups have increased information exchange and expanded pest management knowledge to enhance IPM adoption and provide solutions to critical pest issues.

New working groups:

  • Agriculture and Wildlife Coexistence, Erin Lizotte, Michigan State University, taylor548@msu.edu
  • Food Narrative Project, Larry Gut, IPM Voice, gut@msu.edu
  • Public Gardens as Sentinels Against Invasive Plants, Kurt Dreisilker, Morton Arboretum, kdreisilker@mortonarb.org

Working groups continuing in 2018 with additional funds:

  • Great Lakes Hops, Erin Lizotte, Michigan State University, taylo548@msu.edu
  • Great Lakes Urban Agriculture IPM, Jacqueline Kowalski, Ohio State University, kowalski.124@osu.edu
  • Great Lakes Vegetable, Ben Phillips, Michigan State University, phill406@msu.edu
  • Midwest Grows Green Lawn & Land Forum Working Group, Ryan Anderson, Midwest Pesticide Action Center, randerson@pesticideaction.org
  • Multi-State Field Crops Extension Working Group, Daren Mueller, Iowa State University, dsmuelle@iastate.edu
  • North Central School IPM, Tom Green, IPM Institute of North America, ipmworks@ipminstitute.org
  • Northern Plains IPM Guide, Emmanuel Bayamukama, South Dakota State University, emmanuel.byamukama@sdstate.edu
  • Organic and IPM: Strengthening the Alliance, Tom Green, IPM Institute of North America, ipmworks@ipminstitute.org
  • Public Tick, Tom Green, IPM Institute of North America, ipmworks@ipminstitute.org
  • Pulse Crops, Julie Pasche, North Dakota State University, pasche@ndsu.edu
  • Rights-of-Way as Habitat Working Group, Iris Caldwell, University of Illinois-Chicago, iriscald@uic.edu
  • Sunflower Pathology, Sam Markell, North Dakota State University, samuel.markell@ndsu.edu

Working groups continuing in 2018 on a no cost extension:

  • Great Lakes Fruit, Julianna Wilson, Michigan State University, jkwilson@msu.edu
  • Improving the IPM Capacity of Certified Crop Advisors, Peter Werts, IPM Institute of North America, pwerts@ipminstitute.org
  • North Central Nursery IPM, Robert Schutzki, Michigan State University, schutzki@msu.edu

To facilitate sharing of programming with other working groups in the region, each project has a representative on the NCIPMC Stakeholder Panel and attends an annual meeting to provide an update of activities. If you have interest in joining a working group, please contact the lead project director for more information. To learn more about establishing a working group and our competitive process, please contact Susan Ratcliffe (sratclif@illinois.edu) or Lynnae Jess (jess@msu.edu).

These projects are funded through a USDA-NIFA award (2014-70006-22486).

This entry was posted in Center News. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.